Mauritius officially the Republic of Mauritius is an island nation in the Indian Ocean about 2,000 kilometers off the south-east coast of the African continent. The country includes the islands of Mauritius, Rodrigues, Agaléga and St. Brandon. The country currently has 4 public universities; the two main public universities are the University of Mauritius and the University of Technology, in addition to the Université des Mascareignes, founded in 2012, and the Open University Mauritius. The country also has a vast network of specialized private tertiary educational institutions. The country’s government’s Educational website can be accessed through, and can provide additional information.

Educational Structure
Due to the country’s status as a former British colony, ties to Britain can be observed. One such tie is that before gaining admission to a tertiary educational institution, students take the O-Level and A-Level examinations, carried out by the University of Cambridge through University of Cambridge International Examinations. The educational system follows the traditional Bologna model. For international applicants, equivalent examinations are accepted through the application process, along with other necessary documents.

As of 2019, all first undergraduate degrees are funded by the government for local applicants. Meaning, that tuition in all public universities of the country is free (except for administrative fees) to residents. International applicants still need to pay tuition fees, that range between 2500$ and 7600$ yearly, and are higher for medicine degrees.

Information for International Students
Cost of living in Mauritius is slightly below average. An apartment outside of the city centre will cost 200$, and a monthly budget of about 400-500$ should be sufficient for any students wishing to study there.