Mayotte is an overseas department and region of France officially named the Department of Mayotte. It consists of a main island, Grande-Terre (or Maore), a smaller island, Petite-Terre (or Pamanzi), and several islets around these two. The territory has about 280 thousand inhabitants. Due to its legal status, its tertiary system is the same as France’s. The territory currently has one University, Centre Universitaire de Mayotte, founded in 2011.

Educational Structure
Its educational structure follows the Bologna model, after completing high school studies and obtaining the Baccaleaureate. Successful applicants begin with a Bachelor (Undergraduate) program, after which they can choose to continue with a master’s and even a PhD. Currently, about 34% of students studying in Mayotte are international. Many courses are offered in partnership with French Universities.

Fees are 470 euros for all courses.

Information for International Students
Cost of living is relatively high in Mayotte. A one bedroom apartment outside of the city centre can cost 750 euros, with a monthly budget adding up to 1300 euros including rent.