Solomon Islands

There are three higher education institutions (HEI) in the Solomon Islands. The main HEI is the Solomon Islands College of Higher Education which is partnered with the University of the South Pacific. The University of the South Pacific has many campuses. The other university offers distance learning in education, business studies and technology as there are no universities located in rural areas. The third higher education institution is the Solomon Islands Teachers College which specializes in education. All universities are public and therefore, funded by the state. Universities offer a range of courses in all disciplines whereas colleges are specialized such as the Teachers College. For more information, please refer to the official government website:

Educational Structure 
The higher education system in the Solomon Islands follows the traditional path of a Bachelors, followed by a Masters, and then a Doctorate. Bachelors degrees generally take four years to complete. Masters degrees take between one to two years and doctoral programs take three years to complete. 

There is no centralized body of administration for application to higher education institutions in the Solomon Islands. Prospective students are required to apply directly to their university and course of choice. In order to be accepted for a Bachelors degree, students are required to have completed their secondary school certificate. International certifications are accepted such as the International Baccalaureate or the French Baccalaureate. Prospective Masters students are required to have completed a Bachelors in a relevant field and doctoral students are required to have completed a Masters degree in order to be accepted. 

Higher education institutions in the Solomon Islands are funded by the government meaning that tuition fees are free for students.